Library wind on Revox C270

Fragen und Antworten zur Technik bei den ReVox-Klassikern. Von der 36er-Serie bis zur C-Serie.

Moderator: Administratoren

Forumsregeln
In diesem Bereich geht es um die "Klassiker" der Firma ReVox. Gemeint sind Geräte aus den Anfangstagen der Firma, ReVox-Tonbandgeräten aller Art, B-Serie, C-Serie, S-Serie, H-Serie usw.
Antworten
cbcampbell
Neuling

Library wind on Revox C270

Beitrag von cbcampbell »

Hello all,

This is my first post here. I have substantial experience with open-reel recorders, having begun using a Tandberg and then a Nagra for field work along with a variety of studio decks for documentary and multi-image projects with my father as a teenager in the 1970s. I am now an artist (painter, photographer), but am still involved with audio, and currently engaged in beginning to digitize an archive of some six hundred tapes of spoken voice from the late 1950s and 1960s. Equipment-wise, I'm using an Otari MX-5050 BIII-2 to play back a handful of 1/4 track tapes, but the primary deck is a Studer Revox C270 1/2 track deck which I purchased in 1991. From the C270, I'm doing a 24/96 A/D conversion via Apogee Duet to MacPro, editing in BIAS Peak Pro 6.

I have long been familiar with the practice of storing tapes tails out, after playback at normal speed, so as to produce the flattest and smoothest tape wind possible. However, in studying the written material for the C270, I have discovered three references to an actual "library wind" function that I had never noticed previously:

1. Sales brochure. Listed in the original sales brochure for the C27x series, under "Transport Functions," as one of the machine's functions is:

• Selectable library wind

2. Operating Instructions. In the C270 operating instructions, on page 32, the possible settings of the DIP switches are listed.

Nr 3 — ON — Library mode wind on
Nr 3 — OFF — Normal operation, library mode wind off